de / en
/thumbs/800×800×c/speaker/2021/02/1612199396_Small-Maas-Marco.jpg
Marco Maas
Marco Maas, data journalist, founder and managing director of OpenDataCity / Datenfreunde GmbH

Marco Maas, data journalist, founder and managing director of OpenDataCity / Datenfreunde GmbH, was one of the first German data journalists to emerge. With two partners, he founded the data journalism agency OpenDataCity in 2009, and has realized over 100 data journalism projects for clients such as Spiegel, ARD, ZDF, SZ, Greenpeace and others in the past 10 years. Many of the projects have won awards; the agency has won several Grimme Awards, Lead Awards and many more. Since 2014, Marco and Datenfreunde have been involved with the Internet of Things, first via the ‘Sensor Residence’, in which all actions in the home were tracked by more than 180 sensors, then with xMinutes’, a news app that plays out context-based journalistic content - the right news at the right time in the right place. Currently, Datenfreunde GmbH offers services for smart speakers with the covojo.io platform.

14:15-15:15
// Marco Maas, Datenfreunde GmbH
// Surya Mattu, The Markup
Chair: Eva Wolfangel, Freelance Journalist
15:45-16:45
// Marco Maas, Datenfreunde GmbH
Get Involved
(Booking through our partner MFG)

Due to COVID-19, the Journalism of Things Conference 2021 will take place via Zoom. Participants will receive access details by email. There are two types of ticket: Basic Ticket, which entitles you to use all streams; or Plus Ticket, where holders get a hardware package with which they can immediately start tinkering in the workshops.

Basic Ticket: €25

Access to all talks and workshops, also available as recordings after the conference.

Plus Ticket: €75

Access to all talks and workshops, also available as recordings after the conference. Plus a hardware package worth €150. This includes all the components needed for the workshops: an Octopus board; a sensor for a CO2 traffic light; a speedometer; a fitness bracelet; components for collecting and measuring microplastics.

de / en
/thumbs/800×800×c/speaker/2021/02/1612199396_Small-Maas-Marco.jpg
Marco Maas
Datenjournalist, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von OpenDataCity / Datenfreunde GmbH

Marco Maas, Datenjournalist, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von OpenDataCity / Datenfreunde GmbH, ist einer der ersten deutschen Datenjournalisten. Mit zwei Partnern gründete er 2009 die Datenjournalismus-Agentur OpenDataCity und realisierte in den vergangenen 10 Jahren über 100 datenjournalistische Projekte für Kunden wie Spiegel, ARD, ZDF, SZ, Greenpeace und andere. Viele der Projekte sind preisgekrönt, die Agentur hat mehrere Grimme-Preise, Lead-Awards u. v. a. gewonnen. Seit 2014 beschäftigen sich Marco und die Datenfreunde mit dem Internet der Dinge, zuerst über die “Sensorenresidenz”, in der alle Aktionen in der Wohnung von mehr als 180 Sensoren getrackt wurden, dann mit “xMinutes”, eine Nachrichten-App, die kontextbasiert journalistische Inhalte ausspielt – die richtige Nachricht zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort. Aktuell bietet die Datenfreunde GmbH mit der Plattform covojo.io Dienstleistungen für Smart Speaker an.

14:15-15:15
// Marco Maas, Datenfreunde GmbH
// Surya Mattu, The Markup
Moderation: Eva Wolfangel, Freelance Journalist
15:45-16:45
// Marco Maas, Datenfreunde GmbH
Dabei sein!
Nur zuhören – oder gleich mitbasteln

Die Journalism of Things Conference 2021 findet coronabedingt via Zoom statt. Teilnehmende erhalten die Zugangsdaten per eMail. Es gibt zwei Arten von Tickets: Das Basis-Ticket berechtigt zur Nutzung sämtlicher Streams, Plus-Ticketinhaber bekommen ein Hardwarepaket und können in den Workshops sofort mitbasteln.

Basis-Ticket: 25€

Zugriff auf sämtliche Talks und Workshops, auch als Aufzeichnungen nach der Konferenz verfügbar. (Buchung über unseren Partner MFG)

Plus-Ticket: 75€

Zugriff auf sämtliche Talks und Workshops, auch als Aufzeichnungen nach der Konferenz verfügbar. Außerdem ein Hardwarepaket im Wert von 150 Euro. Darin enthalten sind alle Bauteile, die man bei den Workshops braucht: Octopus-Platine, Sensor für eine CO2-Ampel, ein Geschwindigkeitsmesser, ein Fitnessarmband sowie Bauteile für den Mikroplastiksammler. (Buchung über unseren Partner MFG)